British GT: Qualifying Report


Team Parker Racing’s Rick Parfitt Jnr and Barwell Motorsport’s Phil Keen took the honours within the GT3 class during the split qualifying sessions at Spa-Francorchamps. Parfitt Jnr will be on pole for race one with Keen up front for race two on Saturday.

In the GT4 field HHC Motorsport’s Will Tregurtha took the top spot to start race one from pole whilst Tolman Motorsport’s Joe Osborne is on pole for race two after they set the pace during the split qualifying sessions.

This is the Team Parker Racing’s third pole this season and their first since the opening rounds at Oulton Park. A late rapid lap saw the #31 Bentley jump up on to pole, knocking Macmillan AMR’s Jack Mitchell down. Barwell Motorsport’s Jon Minshaw took third place behind Mitchell. The top five places are filled with five different manufacturers.

The initial flying laps saw Parfitt Jnr sitting on top of the times before Mitchell went faster aboard his Aston Martin. Parfitt Jnr backed off after Mitchell’s flying lap and went even faster after that to secure himself and Seb Morris pole for race one.

The Team Parker Racing duo must serve a ten second success penalty during their pit stop for race one which could make or break their race.

For the second race of the day, Barwell Motorsport’s Phil Keen will start from pole, also breaking the lap record during the qualifying session.

Patrick Kujala and Jonny Adam had their turns sitting at the top of the timing screens before Keen pipped Adam. Team Parker Racing’s Callum Macleod and Seb Morris then went even faster making it a Bentley 1-2.

Keen had unfinished business though, he went on to go even faster to set a new lap record and take the pole position for the second encounter.

Keen will start from pole ahead of Team Parker’s Macleod in second and his teammate Seb Morris in third.

In the GT4 class, HHC’s Will Tregurtha was a man on a mission to take pole position. Black Bull Garage 59’s Sandy Mitchell took second place. Two of the earlier pace setters (Ebor GT and track-club) were forced to miss qualifying due to technical issues.

Macmillan AMR’s William Phillips looked to be a contender during the session but had to settle for third place. Lanan Racing’s Alex Reed finished the session in fourth ahead of Academy Motorsport’s Will Moore.

Dean Macdonald lost fourth place after being penalised for a track limits violation. His second fastest time was good enough for sixth place.

In the second of the two GT4 class qualifying sessions it was Tolman Motorsport’s Joe Osborne who claimed pole position as well as breaking the lap record. Black Bull Garage 59’s Ciaran Haggerty qualified the McLaren in second for race two.

Martin Plowman looked to be a contender during the practice sessions in the RJN Nissan but only managed to qualify fifth.

The first race starts at 08:20 BST with the second race starting at 12:00 BST. You can watch the races live via the VW Fun Cups live stream.


10s – #31 Team Parker Racing Bentley Continental GT3 (Parfitt Jnr/Morris
07s – #24 Macmillan AMR Aston Martin V12 Vantage GT3 (Littlejohn/Mitchell
05s – #21 Spirit of Race Ferrari 488 GT3 (Cameron/Griffin


10s – #72 track-club McLaren 570S GT4 (Balon/Mackay)
07s – #62 Academy Motorsport Aston Martin V8 Vantage GT4 (Moore/Nicoll-Jones)
05s – #29 In2Racing McLaren 570S GT4 (Hoggarth/Anttila)