BTCC: Moffat wins race 1

Aiden Moffat. Credit: Barneshaw Images

Aiden Moffat takes victory in race one of the season finale at Brands Hatch.

Laser Tools Racing’s Aiden Moffat got a blinding start off the line to be alongside pole sitter Jack Goff. The Eurotech Honda then got onto the slippery kerbing due to the damp conditions at the dip of Paddock Hill, sending him sideways. Moffat took the lead with Adrian Flux Subaru Racing’s Ash Sutton in second.

Handy Motorsport’s Rob Austin did amazingly to avoid the spinning Jack Goff. The latter made contact with the wall but managed to carry on in the race, albeit at the back of the pack. Lap two and the order was; Moffat, Sutton, Ingram, Hill, Austin, Plato, Chilton, M Jackson and Andrew Jordan.

Ciceley Motorsport’s Adam Morgan had a moment in the damp conditions as he exited Surtess. Morgan loses the rear end and spins, hits the tyre barrier (as the marshalls duck for cover) and eventually pirouette back onto the circuit, albeit down in twenty-sixth.

On lap four the drivers on slick tyres were beginning to see their lap times improve. This lap is when Tom Ingram set the fastest time as he crawled all over the bumper of Sutton. Ingram managed to pass the championship contender at turn one on lap six. The other championship contender, Turkington was losing more ground this time to the recovering Jack Goff.

Handy Motorsport’s Rob Austin and Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport’s Stephen Jelley showed just how slippery it was on track as Jelley went wide at Paddock Hill and into gravel as Austin went off at Graham Hill Bend. On lap eight Team BMW’s Colin Turkington had fought his way up into fourteenth, meaning he was now scoreing points. The Power Maxed duo of Tom Chilton and Senna Proctor were running well together in fifth and sixth respectively

As the leading three drivers lapped consistently, BMW Pirtek Racing’s Andrew Jordan and Adrian Flux Subaru Racing’s Jason Plato were struggling on their wet tyres. On the penultimate lap of the race the leaders were having to lap back markers.

As the flag fell Moffat sealed the victory for the Laser Tools Racing team and his second of the season. The championship contenders Sutton and Turkington finished P3 and P15 respectively.

Full classification; 

Aiden MOFFAT – Laser Tools Racing

Tom INGRAM – Speedworks Motorsport 

Ashley SUTTON – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing 

Mat JACKSON – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo 

Tom CHILTON – Power Maxed Racing 

Senna PROCTOR – Power Maxed Racing 

Gordon SHEDDEN – Halfords Yuasa Racing 

Dave NEWSHAM – BTC Norlin Racing 

Rob AUSTIN – Handy Motorsport 

Matt NEAL – Halfords Yuasa Racing 

Chris SMILEY – BTC Norlin Racing 

Jack GOFF – Eurotech Racing 

Matt SIMPSON – Simpson Racing 

Ollie JACKSON – with Cobra Exhausts 


Ant WHORTON-EALES – with Cobra Exhausts 

Brett SMITH – Eurotech Racing 

Michael EPPS – Auto Aid/RCIB Insurance Racing 

James COLE – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing 

Stephen JELLEY – Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport 

Martin DEPPER – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo 

Josh PRICE – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing 

Aron TAYLOR-SMITH – MG Racing RCIB Insurance 

Rory BUTCHER – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo 

Josh COOK – MG Racing RCIB Insurance 

Jake HILL – TAG Racing

Andrew JORDAN – BMW Pirtek Racing

Jason PLATO – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing

Stewart LINES – Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport 

DNF – Adam MORGAN – Ciceley Motorsport