BTCC – Cook Dazzles to Donington Pole

Josh Cook. Source: Chequered Images

Power Maxed Racing’s Josh Cook showed impressive pace during the Saturday qualifying for the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship to take pole position and have the early advantage going into Sunday’s three mouthwatering races.

Cook left it until the final moments of the session to nail together what was a incredible lap in mixed conditions and fend off the likes of BTC Norlin’s Chris Smiley who was on course for his own maiden pole position, until the TAG Racing star stole it away from him. The Motorbase Ford Focus RS of Sam Tordoff, who did also top the times during the session, fell to third and Dan Cammish continued to impress in the new Civic with fourth place.

Young Scot Aiden Moffat, who went well at Donington last year, showed similar pace this time around by putting his Mercedes A Class in fifth before having an unexpected early finish to his session after damaging the front right suspension.

Brands Hatch race winner Jack Goff managed sixth in his ballast laden Honda Civic followed by James Nash, who has been improving in every session since making a return to the championship this year. Tom Chilton backed up the Ford Focus RS pace by putting his machine 8th, just ahead of the sister Eurotech Honda of Brett Smith. Tom Oliphant rounded out the top ten for Ciceley Motorsport.

A whole host of touring car household names failed to make much of an impact during the session, with Tom Ingram (16th), Matt Neal (17th), Rob Austin (20th ), Jason Plato (21st), Ash Sutton (22nd), Rob Collard (25th) and Andrew Jordan way back in 30th whilst double champion Colin Turkington did well to wrestle his BMW up into 11th.


2018 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Qualifying – Donington Park

Josh COOK (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing 1m19.816s (89.26mph)
Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.030s
Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team GardX Racing with Motorbase +0.167s
Dan CAMMISH (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.279s
5 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.495s
Jack GOFF (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.522s
James NASH (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.522s
Tom CHILTON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.580s
Brett SMITH (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.665s
10 Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +0.704s
11 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.764s
12 James COLE (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.799s
13 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Mac Tools with Ciceley Motorsport +0.801s
14 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +0.849s
15 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +0.869s
16 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +0.902s
17 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.911s
18 Sam SMELT (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +1.092s
19 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.125s
20 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) DUO Motorsport with HMS Racing +1.165s
21 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.188s
22 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.228s
23 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker Racing +1.510s
24 Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars +1.517s
25 Rob COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +1.545s
26 Josh PRICE (GBR) Autoglym Academy Racing +1.580s
27 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +1.666s
28 Mike BUSHELL (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing +1.722s
29 Tom BOARDMAN (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +2.256s
30 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +2.506s
31 Jake HILL (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing
32 Michael CAINE (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars