BTCC: Jordan Holds Off Neal


Andrew Jordan held Halfords Yuasa Racing’s Matt Neal at an arms-length throughout the opening race of the weekend to take victory. The BMW Pirtek Racing driver blasted off the line to pass Neal and began opening a gap.

Neal was able to keep the BMW in the hands of Colin Turkington behind as the top two then began pulling away when the battle for third began heating up. More than half a dozen cars were involved in the battle for third place.

Turkington managed to pass Laser Tools Racing’s Aiden Moffat on the opening lap of the race. Adrian Flux with Subaru Racing’s Ashley Sutton made a stunning move to pass Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo’s Mat Jackson.

Two of the front runners and championship challengers endured tough and miserable opening laps of the race as both Ciceley Motorsport’s Adam Morgan and Speedworks Motorsport’s Tom Ingram went off in separate incidents.

Moffat passed Turkington and Sutton began closing in on the two as they battled. Sutton made a superb move on lap seven where he slid his Subaru down the side of Turkington into Hislops as the latter attempted to pass Moffat.

Mat Jackson joined the queue of drivers fighting for third along with Team BMW’s Rob Collard and Halfords Yuasa Racing’s Gordon Shedden. The latter had been shuffled down the order by a similar move to what Sutton did at Hislops.

The fight for the last podium position was building towards a tense climax, Moffat squeezed Sutton onto the grass which allowed Turkington to pass the two. Sutton was determined not to be denied, he first managed to go round the outside of Turkington into Lodge Corner and then repeated to pass Moffat at Old Hall on the same lap. Turkington had to eventually pull over with a mechanical issue that had hampered his sessions yesterday.

Up front Matt Neal began closing in on the lead BMW in the hands of Andrew Jordan. The triple champion ran out of time, the two were separated by 0.284 seconds as they took the chequered flag.

Ashley Sutton ended the race in third ahead of Moffat in fourth, Collard in fifth and Jackson in sixth. Gordon Shedden held on to seventh despite late contact with Maximum Motorsport with Team Parker’s Josh Cook. Handy Motorsport’s Rob Austin finished the race in ninth ahead of TAG Racing’s Jake Hill in tenth.

2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Round 10 – Oulton Park:

1 Andrew Jordan BMW 125i M Sport
2 Matt Neal Honda Civic Type R 0.284
3 Ashley Sutton Subaru Levorg GT 11.987
4 Aiden Moffat Mercedes-Benz A-Class 17.642
5 Robert Collard BMW 125i M Sport 18.75
6 Mat Jackson Ford Focus ST MK.III 19.325
7 Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R 20.259
8 Josh Cook Ford Focus ST MK.III 20.561
9 Rob Austin Toyota Avensis 21.469
10 Jake Hill Volkswagen CC 22.046
11 Michael Epps Volkswagen CC 25.005
12 Jason Plato Subaru Levorg GT 26.141
13 Jeff Smith Honda Civic Type R 27.315
14 Ollie Jackson Audi S3 Saloon 27.452
15 Senna Proctor Vauxhall Astra 27.951
16 Aron Taylor-Smith MG6 GT 28.271
17 Stephen Jelley Ford Focus ST MK.III 28.856
18 Luke Davenport Ford Focus ST MK.III 29.057
19 Tom Chilton Vauxhall Astra 31.032
20 Daniel Lloyd MG6 GT 31.493
21 Jack Goff Honda Civic Type R 32.64
22 Josh Price Subaru Levorg GT 34.783
23 James Cole Subaru Levorg GT 35.365
24 Dave Newsham Chevrolet Cruze 4dr 35.53
25 Will Burns Volkswagen CC 44.478
26 Martin Depper Ford Focus ST MK.III 45.087
27 Ant Whorton-Eales Audi S3 Saloon 45.912
28 Adam Morgan Mercedes-Benz A-Class 48.9
29 Colin Turkington BMW 125i M Sport 52.479
30 Chris Smiley Chevrolet Cruze 4dr 3 laps
31 Tom Ingram Toyota Avensis 4 laps
32 Matt Simpson Honda Civic Type R 15 laps