BTCC Snetterton Preview


Its time for the big one this weekend in the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship as the teams arrive at Snetterton in Norfolk for the summer spectacular celebrating the series 60th anniversary in style.

Colin Turkington leads the championship heading into this weekend having extended his lead last time out at Croft. He has been the most consistent driver so far in 2018 but has only got one win to his name this year. The five further podiums and ten top six finishes see him arrive at Snetterton holding a 19 point lead at the top.

BTCC Championship Leader, Colin Turkington. Source: Eric Barnes Photography

Tom Ingram is the first of the chasing pack and sits second in the overall standings with Matt Neal not to far behind in third.

Now to this weekend, instead of the usual race three reversed grid taking place, there will be a unique “Diamond Double” race to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the BTCC. This will mean that the final race of the day on Sunday will take the form of a 60-mile contest, with its own standalone qualifying session and all cars competing with no ballast.

With this race being twice as long as a normal BTCC race, this showpiece will inject further excitement and a sporting twist into what is already going to be a magnificent weekend for the series.

Strategy and tyre management will play a huge part during the race and with the title fight still on a knife-edge, who knows who will be championship leader come Sunday evening.

Snetterton has been a part of the BTCC calendar for a very long time and has played host to some memorable moments, from the start line accidents in 1993 and more recently in 2016, to the first ever touring car night race in 1999.

The circuit has also played host to one of the more memorable Plato/Neal chapters of recent times during that chaotic race in 2006.

With a huge crowd expected at Snetterton to really ramp up the festival atmosphere this weekend and the weather looking set to be scorching, we are really in for an exciting weekend of touring car racing.

FP1: 9:30
FP2: 12:10
QUALI: 15:10

RACE 1: 11:30
RACE 2: 13:50