BTCC – What we know so far

2017 Media Day Credit: Eric Barnes Photography

As we get ever closer to the start of the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship season, we thought it would be a good idea, to just get up to speed with the current state of the 2018 grid.

Ollie Jackson and Sam Smelt were announced at the Autosport Show as the two drivers to pilot the AMDTuning Audi S3’s for 2018. There were some notable changes at BTC Norlin, as they have swapped the trusty Chevrolet Cruze for the Honda Civic Type R and there was a welcome return to the championship for James Nash, who partners Chris Smiley, as the team look to build on a good first season.

Adam Morgan returns for Ciceley in the Mercedes A Class but this time has a team-mate in the form of Tom Oliphant. Tom will be looking to impress in his first season in the championship with a team full of experience. Aiden Moffat also returns in the Laser Tools backed Mercedes and will want to be challenging for podiums right from the off.

Aiden Moffat Laser Tools. Credit: Eric Barnes Photography

Eurotech have retained Jack Goff for 2018 and he’s partnered by Brett Smith who will race full time in the series after filling in for his Dad Jeff Smith for the second half of last year and also Mat Simpson.

Jack Goff Eurotech. Credit: Ian Cutting Photography

Alfa Romeo are back in the BTCC thanks to the HMS Racing squad and Rob Austin, who will be hoping to be a permanent front runner this year after showing promise throughout 2017. Motorbase certainly mean business this year as they welcomed back the RS name to the championship and three stellar drivers to drive the new shape Focus. Mat Jackson, Tom Chilton and Sam Tordoff will be leading the charge for the team this year.

Power Maxed Racing have welcomed back the services of Josh Cook who joins up with Senna Proctor in the pair of Vauxhall Astras. The team had a good year last year and Senna in particular will be looking to build on his Jack Sears Trophy success.

Senna Proctor PMR. Credit: Ian Cutting Photography

Tom Ingram is back in what is now the only Toyota Avensis on the grid with Speedworks as he hopes to mount a title challenge and Team BMR have reigning champ Ash Sutton ready to defend his crown with Jason Plato back to hopefully have a much better year than last year.

Ash Sutton BMR. Credit Eric Barnes Photography

We are still yet to find out Gordon Shedden’s replacement at Honda but we do know that Matt Neal will be there with the all new shape Civic for 2018.

Matt Neal Team Yuasa 2017 Honda. Credit: Ian Cutting Photography

Team HARD have an impressive line up in the shape of Mike Bushell, Jake Hill, Michael Caine and Bobby Thompson and will surely be a contender for the Independents title and finally WSR have an unchanged line up of Colin Turkington, Rob Collard and Andrew Jordan.

So these are the names we know about and there is still more to be announced between now and the season launch at Donington Park on the 27th March.