European F3: Ericsson takes race two win, but loses title chance


Joel Eriksson (Motopark) took victory in race two at Spielberg, but no longer has a chance of taking the drivers’ title after Lando Norris (Carlin) finished in second.

Eriksson led from pole at the start and succeeded in keeping Norris behind him on the opening lap.

Over the course of the 25-lap race, Norris stayed within a second of Eriksson, but struggled to find a way past and allowed the Swede to keep up his fifth win of the season.

Nikita Mazepin (Hitech GP) claimed third place ahead of Callum Ilott (Prema Powerteam) with Jehan Daruvala (Carlin) holding off Ralf Aron (Hitech GP) for fifth place.

After the race, Eriksson summarized his race: “My start was perfect. On the opening lap, I had to defend my lead, but it was a relatively calm race after that. I tried to save my tyres, but I was still able to keep a good speed. The only minor issue I had during the race is that I lost my right rear-view mirror. Otherwise, it was a smooth affair.”

Only Maximilian Günther (Prema Powerteam) can now prevent Norris from becoming champion, and is currently 82 points behind the McLaren junior following his seventh-place finish.

Jake Hughes (Hitech GP) originally finished ahead of the German in seventh, but was handed a ten second time penalty for his collision with Ferdinand Habsburg (Carlin) at Turn 4 on the final lap.

Because of this, Joey Mawson (Van Amersfoort Racing) was promoted to eighth ahead of the home favourite Ferdinand Habsburg (Carlin), with Mick Schumacher (Prema Powerteam) completing the top ten.

Tadasuke Makino (Hitech GP) was also running in the points early on but received a drive through penalty for a jump start.

FIA Formula Three Round Twenty-Six Starting Grid:

1 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark, 1:23.431 2 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin, 1:23.434
3 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP, 1:23.684 4 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam, 1:23.731
5 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin, 1:23.748 6 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP, 1:23.767
7 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP, 1:23.770 8 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin, 1:23.780
9 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam, 1:23.826 10 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam, 1:23.829
11 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Hitech GP, 1:23.912 12 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam, 1:23.918
13 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing, 1:23.934 14 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing, 1:23.940
15 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing, 1:23.960 16 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark, 1:24.047
17 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark, 1:24.060 18 Devlin DeFrancesco (CDN), Carlin, 1:24.321
19 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark, 1:24.407 20 Petru Florescu (ROM), Motopark, 1:24.859


FIA Formula Three Round Twenty-Six Official Classification:

Pos. Driver (Nationality), Team Lap Time/Reason for Retirement
1 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark 25 35:02.346
2 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin 25 +0.896
3 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP 25 +7.303
4 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam 25 +7.842
5 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin 25 +11.634
6 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP 25 +13.412
7 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam 25 +24.461
8 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing 25 +25.141
9 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin 25 +25.504
10 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam 25 +26.661
11 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark 25 +30.050
12 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing 25 +33.109
13 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP 25 +33.818; 10 second time penalty
14 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark 25 +35.160
15 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing 25 +35.909
16 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark 25 +36.780
17 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Hitech GP 25 +38.876
18 Petru Florescu (ROM), Motopark 25 +41.815
19 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam 25 +43.708
20 Devlin DeFrancesco (CDN), Carlin 23 +2 Laps