European F3: Ilott tops all Prema podium

Source: @PREMA_Team

Callum Ilott took a comfortable race win from pole in the second Formula Three race at Hockenheim, with Prema Powerteam team-mates Maximilian Günther and Guanyu Zhou joining him on the podium to secure the team’s fifth consecutive Constructors’ title.

The race start was delayed after Joey Mawson (Van Amersfoort Racing) stalled on the grid. As a result, the drivers had to go another formation lap, whilst the Australian started the race from the pit lane.

The race did get under way, Ilott led the way from Günther and Zhou. Behind them on the approach to the Turn 6 hairpin, the driver’s champion Lando Norris (Carlin) drove onto the grass to avoid a collision with the car’s in front and dropped to thirteenth place.

Although Norris managed to make his way passed David Beckmann (Motopark) late on, the McLaren junior had too much work to do and eventually finished in eleventh.

The main battle on track however was between Jake Hughes (Hitech GP) and Joel Eriksson (Motopark) over fourth place, with the two drivers going wheel to wheel on several occasions before the Swedish pulled off the manoeuvre at the hairpin.

Back at the front, Ilott had pulled away from Günther to take a convincing race win, eleven seconds ahead of his German team-mate.

After the race, Ilott talked through his challenges throughout the race: “My start was good. Initially, I was still having problems with my brakes, but after a few laps, it was okay and I was able to pull away from the rest of the field. Overall, my car was very good and I was able to post consistent lap times. Moreover, it is great that we from the Prema Powerteam were able to take first, second and third place and have now won the teams’ title.”

Behind them, Zhou held off Eriksson at the end to ensure a Prema Powerteam whitewash on the podium.

Hughes had initially finished seventh after being overtaken by Pedro Piquet (Van Amersfoort Racing) and Tadasuke Makino (Hitech GP) late on. However, the two drivers were given five second time penalties for incorrect grid positioning, which promoted Hughes to fifth.

Nikita Mazepin (Hitech GP) also benefited from the penalties to move into sixth ahead of Piquet, with Jehan Daruvala (Carlin) in eighth, Makino dropping to ninth and Ralf Aron (Hitech GP) rounding up the top ten.

FIA Formula Three Round Twenty-Nine Starting Grid:

1 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam, 1:31.685 2 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam, 1:31.956
3 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam, 1:31.967 4 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP, 1:32.083
5 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing, 1:32.090 6 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark, 1:32.135
7 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin, 1:32,.163 8 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Hitech GP, 1:32.203
9 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP, 1:32.215 10 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP, 1:32.246
11 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin, 1:32.299 12 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing, 1:32.335
13 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin, 1:32.455 14 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam, 1:32.469
15 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark, 1:32.513 16 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark, 1:32.732
17 Juri Vips (EST), Motopark, 1:32.774 18 Felipe Drugovich (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing, 1:32.804
19 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark, 1:32.854 20 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing, 1:32.899
21 Devlin DeFrancesco (CDN), Carlin, 1:32.928


FIA Formula Three Round Twenty-Nine Official Classification:

Pos. Driver (Nationality), Team Laps Time/Reason for Retirement
1 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam 21 32:41.110
2 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam 21 +11.339
3 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam 21 +14.174
4 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark 21 +14.707
5 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP 21 +23.183
6 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP 21 +23.977
7 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing 21 +25.279; five second penalty for incorrect grid positioning
8 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin 21 +26.941
9 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Hitech GP 21 +27.527; five second penalty for incorrect grid positioning
10 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP 21 +27.716
11 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin 21 +30.617
12 Juri Vips (EST), Motopark 21 +34.218
13 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark 21 +36.201
14 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing 21 +38.520
15 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing 21 +41.843
16 Felipe Drugovich (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing 21 +43.957
17 Devlin DeFrancesco (CDN), Carlin 21 +44.532
18 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam 21 +46.041
19 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark 21 +47.272
20 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin 21 +1:29.606
Not Classified
Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark Retired