European F3: Norisring (Race 1)


Maximilian Günther (Prema Powerteam) won an action-packed Race 1 at the Norisring, capitalising on a crash between pole sitter Jake Hughes (Hitech GP) and championship rival Lando Norris towards the end.

Hughes got a great start off the line whilst Norris once again lost ground, briefly dropping to fourth as Ferdinand Habsburg (Carlin) collided with Callum Ilott (Prema Powerteam) behind them.

Norris then began to make up for lost time, passing Pedro Piquet (Van Amersfoort Racing) into Turn 1 on Lap 2 for third.

Joel Eriksson (Motopark) started 17th having experienced issues with his rear dampers and had caught up to Van Amersfoort Racing team-mates Joey Mawson and Harrison Newey who were fighting over sixth place.

On Lap 15, Eriksson claimed sixth place after Mawson locked up at Turn 1 which caused Newey to move out wide in avoidance and the Swede to pull away.

Shortly after, Mawson then had Jehan Daruvala (Carlin) closing in when the two touched, forcing the Australian to slam into the wall at the exit of the Schӧller S and brought out the full course yellow.

When the race restarted, Norris caught Günther napping to move into second and pursue after Hughes for victory. Having initially been able to keep Norris behind, Hughes got onto the dirty side of the track whilst defending his line into Turn 1 on Lap 32.

As a result, he lost the back end of the car before receiving a nudge from Norris which was enough to send the Brit spinning into the barriers and out of the race. Günther subsequently inherited the race lead to win and move into first in the drivers’ championship.

“My start was good and I even managed to take second place in the first corner. I was always close to the leader, but I also knew that I couldn’t afford a mistake. I patiently waited for my chance to occur. I am really happy with victory in my home race at the Norisring and also with the 25 points, of course” said Günther.

Although Norris passed Piquet around the outside of the Turn 1 for second on the final lap, he was given a 20 second time penalty for his incident with Hughes and dropped to eleventh in the final classification.

Starting Grid:

1 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP, 48.231 2 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin, 48.233
3 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing, 48.246 4 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam, 48.334
5 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam, 48.352 6 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin, 48.371
7 Guan Yu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam, 48.379 8 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing, 48.405
9 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin, 48.409 10 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing, 48.411
11 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP, 48.452 12 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP, 48.457
13 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam, 48.516 14 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark, 48.593
15 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark, 48.613 16 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark, 48.721
17 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark, 48.871 18 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Hitech GP, 48.930


Race Classification:

Pos. Driver (Nationality), Team Laps Time/Reason for Retirement
1 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam 38 38 Laps
2 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing 38 +1.507
3 Guan Yu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam 38 +2.134
4 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark 38 +4.421
5 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing 38 +15.640
6 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin 38 +15.717
7 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam 38 +16.480
8 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Hitech GP 38 +17.907
9 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP 38 +18.508
10 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP 38 +19.426
11 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin 38 +20.832 (20 Second Time Penalty)
12 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark 38 +24.109
13 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark 38 +27.342
14 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark 38 +27.766
Not Classified
Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP 31 Crash
Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam 24 Sustained Damage
  Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing 15 Crash
  Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin 6 Sustained Damage