European F3: Norisring (Race 2)

Source: Autosport

Lando Norris (Carlin) produced a spectacular display to win the second race of the FIA Formula 3 European Championship at the Norisring, ahead of Jake Hughes (Hitech GP) and championship leader Maximilian Günther (Prema Powerteam).

Despite rainfall overnight, the track dried out for the race start, which saw pole sitter Ralf Aron (Hitech GP) get well off the line and create a gap to team-mate Hughes and those behind.

In the early stages, Norris contended with Pedro Piquet (Van Amersfoort Racing) over fourth place, with the Brazilian initially passing the McLaren junior at the Grundig corner.

It didn’t take long for Norris to respond, as he lunged down the inside at the Dutzendteich corner to take the position back.

However, this gave Piquet the slipstream into the approach of the Grundig corner in which both touched wheels. As a result, Piquet was forced wide and dropped to sixth behind Jehan Daruvala (Carlin).

Having failed to find a way past Hughes for second, Günther understeered into the Dutzendteich corner to allow Norris past for third.

The British driver took complete advantage of the clean air and quickly got past Hughes into Grundig for second and went in pursuit of Aron.

European F3: Norisring (Race 1)

The Estonian didn’t make it easy though, defending hard into the Grundig corner for numerous laps and allowing the chasing pack to close the gap.

Eventually, Norris made his move having gone alongside Aron through the Schöller S and holding the inside line into the Dutzendteich corner to take the lead.

On the following lap, Aron locked up at the same place, allowing team-mate Hughes past for second. Subsequently, he suffered damage to his front wing and ran wide into the Grundig corner, dropping to fifth behind Günther and Daruvala.

At the end of the race, Norris was understandably pleased with his performance: “I am really happy to finally be on the top step of the podium again. The race was fun, I had some great fights.”

“Nevertheless, overtaking isn’t easy here when the driver in front is defending well. My start was pretty good, too: I didn’t move up, but at least I didn’t lose any positions either.”

Piquet finished sixth ahead of Harrison Newey (Van Amersfoort Racing) and Guan Yu Zhou (Prema Powerteam), whilst title contenders Callum Ilott (Prema Powerteam) and Joel Eriksson (Motopark) could only manage ninth and tenth respectively.

Starting Grid:

1 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP, 47.859 2 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP, 47.941
3 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam, 47.963 4 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin, 47.971
5 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin, 47.973 6 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing, 47.998
7 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing, 48.048 8 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP, 48.058
9 Guan Yu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam, 48.077 10 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark, 48.161
11 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam, 48.188 12 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam, 48.046 (5 Place Grid Penalty)
13 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark, 48.202 14 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin, 48.085
15 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark, 48.310 16 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing, 48.319
17 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Hitech GP, 48.355 18 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark, 48.407


Race Classification:

Pos. Driver (Nationality), Team Laps Time/Reason for Retirement
1 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin 42 42 Laps
2 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP 42 +1.134
3 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam 42 +2.176
4 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin 42 +3.378
5 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP 42 +4.167
6 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing 42 +4.554
7 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing 42 +5.074
8 Guan Yu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam 42 +5.624
9 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam 42 +6.504
10 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark 42 +7.848
11 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark 42 +12.503
12 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam 42 +12.554
13 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing 42 +14.198
14 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Hitech GP 42 +14.923
15 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin 42 +18.351
16 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark 42 +19.733
17 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark 42 +22.577
18 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP 41 +1 Lap