European F3: Norisring (Race 3)

Source: Autosport

Jehan Daruvala (Carlin) held off competition from pole sitter Maximilian Günther (Prema Powerteam) to win his first Formula 3 race at the Norisring.

Daruvala had the better start out of the two and held the racing line as the cars made their way into the opening Grundig corner.

The Indian driver had opened a small gap when the full course yellow was brought out for a collision between Mick Schumacher (Prema Powerteam) and Pedro Piquet (Van Amersfoort Racing).

When the racing resumed, Daruvala and Günther pulled away as Ralf Aron, Jake Hughes (both Hitech GP) and Lando Norris battled over third place.

The full yellow course was deployed once more after Tadasuke Makino (Hitech GP) crashed into Harrison Newey (Van Amersfoort Racing).

Despite the minor contact, Makino injured his wrist and as a result will miss the next two rounds at Spa-Francorchamps and Zandvoort respectively.

After the race was restarted, Daruvala continued to maintain the gap to Günther as Norris began to make his way up the field. The McLaren junior passed Hughes for fourth at the Grundig corner, before going after Aron.

After strong resistance, the Estonian cracked under pressure and ran wide at Grundig and allowed Norris into third towards the end.

Back at the front, Daruvala held his nerve and took the win ahead of Günther, becoming the first Indian driver to do so in Formula 3.

After the race, Daruvala spoke about his thought process as the race went on: “This time, my reaction at the start was very good. In the race, I wasn’t able to pull clear from Maximilian and I was under pressure throughout, I couldn’t afford a mistake.”

“Then, I mainly focused on getting the acceleration out of the corners right, which I managed to do. I reckon that the start was the key to this victory, so I mainly concentrated on that.”

Norris completed the podium ahead of Aron and Hughes, with David Beckmann producing a good drive to move up from eleventh to sixth, with Motopark team-mate Joel Eriksson in seventh.

Because of the weekend’s action, Günther still leads the Drivers’ championship with 236 points. Joel Eriksson is second on 202 points with Lando Norris third on 198 points.

Starting Grid:

1 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam, 47.965 2 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin, 48.048
3 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP, 48.058 4 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP, 48.068
5 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT) Carlin, 48.088 6 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin, 48.134
7 Guan Yu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam, 48.139 8 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP, 48.181
9 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam, 48.201 10 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark, 48.201
11 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark, 48.203 12 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing, 48.225
13 Mick Schumacher (GER) Prema Powerteam, 48.267 14 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing, 48.292
15 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing, 48.359 16 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark, 48.381
17 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Hitech GP, 48.419 18 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark, 48.432


Race Classification:

Pos. Driver (Nationality), Team Laps Time/Reason for Retirement
1 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin 39 39 Laps
2 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam 39 +0.458
3 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin 39 +3.088
4 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP 39 +4.021
5 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP 39 +4.548
6 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark 39 +5.009
7 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark 39 +5.753
8 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin 39 +6.843
9 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam 39 +8.165
10 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP 39 +9.223
11 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing 39 +10.158
12 Guan Yu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam 39 +10.680
13 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark 39 +19.348
14 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark 39 +20.004
15 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing 39 +23.380
Not Classified
Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Hitech GP Suspension Damage; Contact with Newey
Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing Suspension Damage; Contact with Schumacher
  Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam Suspension Damage; Contact with Piquet


2017 FIA Formula 3 European Championship Standing after Fifteen Rounds:

Pos. Driver (Nationality), Team Points
1 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam 236 Points
2 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark 202 Pts
3 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin 198 Pts
4 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam 166 Pts
5 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin 106 Pts
6 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP 88 Pts
7 Guan Yu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam 84 Pts
8 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP 70 Pts
9 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing 67 Pts
10 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin 56 Pts
11 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam 55 Pts
12 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing 44 Pts
13 Jake Dennis (GBR), Carlin 41 Pts
14 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing 36 Pts
15 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP 28 Pts
16 David Beckmann (GER), Van Amersfoort Racing/Motopark 28 Pts
17 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Hitech GP 10 Pts