European F3: Penalty-free Ilott takes victory in Zandvoort

Source: FIA F3 European Championship

Callum Ilott (Prema Powerteam) kept his slim title hopes intact with victory in race two at Zandvoort, ahead of fellow Britons Jake Hughes (Hitech GP), Lando Norris (Carlin) and Harrison Newey (Van Amersfoort Racing).

Before the start of race two, numerous drivers were given penalties for failing to slow down for the yellow flags being waved after Jehan Daruvala (Carlin) spun off on the final lap of qualifying at the nameless Turn 10 left hander.

Because of the deductions, Norris lost his pole position and dropped to third behind Ilott – who himself was also investigated but wasn’t penalised – and Hughes.

Title contenders Maximilian Günther (Prema Powerteam) and Joel Eriksson (Motopark) also received grid penalties, as did Ferdinand Habsburg, Ameya Vaidyanathan (both Carlin), Guanyu Zhou (Prema Powerteam), Nikita Mazepin, Ralf Aron (both Hitech GP) and Marino Sato (Motopark).

The nine drivers penalised also received two penalty points on their licences for failing to slow down and risking an avoidable accident.

Ilott got a good start off the line but was that made redundant after Van Amersfoort Racing team-mates Joey Mawson and Pedro Piquet banged wheels on the opening lap, resulting in the latter being beached in the gravel pit and the second safety car appearance of the weekend.

European F3: Norris dominates first race at Zandvoort

At the restart, Ilott pulled away from the chasing pack, in what turned out to be an uneventful race and took a straightforward win ahead of Hughes, Norris and Newey.

The win was much needed for Ilott, something he expressed post-race: “Having inherited pole position yesterday, I was able to get into the lead at the start.”

“Then, there was a safety car intervention, but I could also defend my first place at the restart. Our speed was always good and I am happy that I was finally able to prove it with this victory. I reckon that I was at the right place at the right time today.”

Beckmann took fifth place ahead of Habsburg, who lead a train of cars over the line. The most notable of these were Günther in seventh and Eriksson, who failed to score in 12th.

FIA Formula Three Round Twenty Starting Grid

1 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam, 1:28.161 2 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP, 1:28.220
3 Lando Norris, (GBR), Carlin, Grid Penalty 4 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark, 1:28.505
5 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing, 1:28.505 6 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin, Grid Penalty
7 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam, Grid Penalty 8 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP, Grid Penalty
9 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam, Grid Penalty 10 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin, 1:28.771
11 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam, 1:28.930 12 Ralf Aron (EST) Hitech GP, Grid Penalty
13 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark, Grid Penalty 14 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Motopark, 1:28.893
15 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing, 1:28.996 16 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing, 1:29.026
17 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark, 1:29.514 18 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark, Grid Penalty
19 Ameya Vaidyanathan (IND), Carlin, Grid Penalty


FIA Formula Three Round Twenty Official Classification

Pos. Driver (Nationality), Team Lap Time/Reason for Retirement
1 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam 22 34:52.414
2 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP 22 +7.371
3 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin 22 +8.742
4 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing 22 +14.993
5 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark 22 +15.650
6 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin 22 +20.059
7 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam 22 +20.756
8 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam 22 +21.837
9 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam 22 +22.405
10 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP 22 +23.367
11 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP 22 +24.239
12 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark 22 +24.671
13 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark 22 +34.803
14 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing 22 +35.537
15 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Hitech GP 22 +36.898
16 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin 22 +37.078
17 Ameya Vaidyanathan (IND), Carlin 22 +39.948
18 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark 22 +42.598
Not Classified
Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing 0 Left Track; Contact with Newey