European F3: Spa-Francorchamps (Race 1)

Source: Autosport

Lando Norris (Carlin) took a commanding victory at Spa-Francorchamps to help his championship hopes in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship.

Leading from pole position, the leading pack were four cars wide heading into Les Combes.

Callum Ilott (Prema Powerteam) was forced wide and collided with Jake Hughes (Hitech GP) when returning onto the track, the latter suffering suspension damage and retired from the race. As a result, the stewards gave Ilott a drive through penalty whilst the Safety Car was out and the Briton eventually finished the race in 14th.

After the restart, Norris pulled away and behind him, Nikita Mazepin (Hitech GP) went around the outside of championship leader Maximilian Günther (Prema Powerteam) of Les Combes for second position. Mazepin initially began to close the gap, but Norris went even faster to claim victory.

After the race, McLaren’s junior driver was pleased with his performance: “The weekend so far has been very strong – fastest in every session and a win.” Norris continued: “Nikita started catching me a little so I had to start to push a bit, but then I opened up the gap and I could relax – [it was] a very good race.”

Further down the order, title contender Joel Eriksson once again had to make his way through the field, finishing ninth after starting 12th on the grid.


FIA Formula 3 Round Sixteen Starting Grid:

1 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin, 2:12.144 2 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam, 2:12.369
3 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP, 2:12.420 4 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam, 2:12.588
5 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP, 2:12.668 6 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam, 2:12.918
7 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin, 2:12.969 8 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP, 2:13.077
9 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing, 2:13.095 10 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing, 2:13.105
11 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing, 2:13.110 12 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark, 2:13.131
13 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin, 2:13.166 14 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam, 2:13.311
15 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark, 2:13.616 16 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark, 2:14.045
17 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark, 2:14.096 18 Ameya Vaidyanathan (IND), Carlin, 2:14.332


FIA Formula 3 Round Sixteen Official Classification:

Pos. Driver (Nationality), Team Laps Time/Reason for Retirement
1 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin 15 36:47.067
2 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP 15 +2.807
3 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam 15 +6.665
4 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin 15 +9.593
5 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing 15 +10.014
6 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam 15 +10.759
7 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing 15 +16.620
8 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin 15 +18.748
9 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark 15 +19.387
10 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing 15 +20.427
11 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP 15 +21.656
12 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam 15 +23.982
13 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark 15 +24.759
14 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam 15 +28.319
15 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark 15 +33.085
16 Ameya Vaidyanathan (IND), Carlin 15 +33.969
Not Classified
David Beckmann (GER), Motopark Retired
Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP Suspension Damage; Contact with Ilott