European F3: Spa-Francorchamps (Race 3)

Source: Autosport

Lando Norris (Carlin) overcame a three-place grid penalty to win the third race of the FIA Formula Three European Championship at Spa-Francorchamps.

Guanyu Zhou (Prema Powerteam) took the lead on the run down to Les Combes ahead of team-mate Callum Ilott, who then dropped to fourth behind Maximilian Günther (Prema Powerteam) and Norris.

Günther then lost position to Norris and Ilott in successive laps due to the slipstream advantage on the run to Les Combes. Not long after, the German’s race was brought to an abrupt end.

Defending from Jake Hughes (Hitech GP) coming out of Raidillon and onto the Kemmel straight, Günther attempted to close the door when the two cars touched wheels, sending the championship leader into the barrier and as a result, the safety car was deployed.

When the race restarted, Norris immediately passed Zhou for the lead and began to pull away. 

Further back, Joel Eriksson (Motopark) – who started tenth on the grid – passed Ralf Aron (Hitech GP) and Jehan Daruvala (Carlin) in quick succession and went after Ilott and Zhou.

Towards the end of the race, Ilott initially got passed team-mate Zhou for second, before both fell victim to a charging Eriksson in identical manoeuvres at Les Combes.

European F3: Spa-Francorchamps (Race 2)

On the final lap, Zhou copied the manoeuvre to overtake Ilott and claim the final podium position.

After the race, Norris discussed the importance of his win: “For me, the second race wasn’t good, but things had been going really well until then. Therefore, I really wanted to win today.

The McLaren junior continued: “I think that fourth place on the grid at Spa isn’t that much of a disadvantage at all. Once again, I had a good start in this race which is very important to me after the many weak starts I have had this season.”

Daruvala claimed fifth whilst Aron and race two winner Ferdinand Habsburg (Carlin) battled hard for sixth in the final laps, with Austrian coming out on top, with Mick Schumacher (Prema Powerteam), Harrison Newey and Joey Mawson (both Van Amersfoort Racing)

At the end of the weekend’s action, Maximilian Günther still leads the championship with 266, with Norris 18 points behind on 248 points and Eriksson still in touch on 240 points.

FIA Formula 3 Round Eighteen Starting Grid:

1 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam, 2:11.388 2 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam, 2:11.780
3 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam, 2:11.781 4 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin, 3 Place Grid Penalty
5 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP, 2:11.906 6 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin, 2:11.912
7 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP, 2:11.958 8 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin, 2:11.959
9 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing, 2:12.210 10 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark, 2:12.276
11 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP, 2:12.376 12 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing, 2:12.387
13 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam, 2:12.545 14 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing, 2:12.677
15 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark, 2:13.136 16 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark, 2:13.161
17 Ameya Vaidyanathan (IND), Carlin, 2:13.448 18 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark, 2:13.456


FIA Formula 3 Round Eighteen Official Classification:

Pos. Name (Nationality), Team Laps Time/Reason for Retirement
1 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin 15 35:36.677
2 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark 15 +2.393
3 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam 15 +4.142
4 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam 15 +4.701
5 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin 15 +7.890
6 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin 15 +10.177
7 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP 15 +10.973
8 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam 15 +11.957
9 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing 15 +12.643
10 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing 15 +17.728
11 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP 15 +17.937
12 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing 15 +19.265
13 Keyvan Andres Soori (GER), Motopark 15 +22.633
14 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark 15 +23.646
15 Ameya Vaidyanathan (IND), Carlin 15 +24.534
16 David Beckmann (GER), Motopark 14 +1 Lap
Not Classified
Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam 3 Crash; Contact with Hughes
Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP 3 Sustained Damage; Contact with Günther


FIA Formula 3 European Championship Drivers’ Standings after Eighteen Rounds:

Pos. Driver (Nationality), Team Points
1 Maximilian Günther (GER), Prema Powerteam 266 Points
2 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin 248 Pts
3 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark 240 Pts
4 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam 186 Pts
5 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin 138 Pts
6 Jake Hughes (GBR), Hitech GP 100 Pts
7 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam 99 Pts
8 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin 93 Pts
9 Ralf Aron (EST), Hitech GP 80 Pts
10 Harrison Newey (GBR), Van Amersfoort Racing 75 Pts
11 Mick Schumacher (GER), Prema Powerteam 69 Pts
12 Nikita Mazepin (RUS), Hitech GP 52 Pts
13 Joey Mawson (AUS), Van Amersfoort Racing 48 Pts
14 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing 45 Pts
15 Jake Dennis (GBR), Carlin 41 Pts
16 David Beckmann (GER), Van Amersfoort Racing/Motopark 28 Pts
17 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Motopark 10 Pts