F1: Bahrain GP FP2 Report – Rӓikkӧnen Sets Red Hot Pace at Sakhir


Ferrari’s Kimi Rӓikkӧnen finished fastest in free practice two, with team-mate Sebastian Vettel only eleven hundredths of a second off the pace in second.

Rӓikkӧnen set the benchmark of 1:30.689 early, with Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo only six hundredths of a second slower into second place.

Further back, Marcus Ericsson lost control of his Sauber at Turn 3 but managed to continue without any major damage.

15 minutes into the session, Valtteri Bottas briefly topped the timesheets with a 1:30.447 for Mercedes. However, Sebastian Vettel managed to get more speed out of his Ferrari to go fastest on a 1:30.041.

Lewis Hamilton had a conservative start to the session as he initially went fifth fastest on his opening run before locking up at Turn 1.

Rӓikkӧnen then reclaimed the top spot on his second run with a 1:29.817 with half an hour of the session done. The flying Finn was forced to stop on track towards the end though, after his front right tyre wasn’t secure following a pit-stop.

Hamilton managed to move up to fourth place, but that lap was hampered by the Haas of Kevin Magnussen at the entry of Turn 14. Hamilton’s Mercedes team-mate, Bottas also had issues with traffic, nearly colliding with Ricciardo on the exit of Turn 4 during an in-lap.

Both Williams drivers had a difficult time staying on track, with Sergey Sirotkin spinning at Turn 11 and Lance Stroll understeering at the final corner.

Max Verstappen was fifth ahead of Ricciardo in the sister Red Bull, but complained about the lack of power from his Renault engine on the team radio, before going wide at Turn 10 during his race simulation.

Nico Hulkenberg was the best of the midfield pack in seventh for Renault, and made similar complaints on his team radio as well.

Pierre Gasly demonstrated the pace of the Honda engine to finish eighth, with the McLarens of Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorne rounding up the top ten.

2018 Bahrain Grand Prix Free Practice Two Official Classification:

Pos. Car No. Driver (Nationality), Team Time
1 7 Kimi Rӓikkӧnen (FIN), Scuderia Ferrari 1:29.817
2 5 Sebastian Vettel (DEU), Scuderia Ferrari 1:29.828
3 77 Valtteri Bottas (FIN), Mercedes AMG 1:30.380
4 44 Lewis Hamilton (GBR), Mercedes AMG 1:30.472
5 33 Max Verstappen (NED), Red Bull Racing-TAG Heuer 1:30.745
6 3 Daniel Ricciardo (AUS), Red Bull Racing-TAG Heuer 1:30.751
7 27 Nico Hulkenberg (DEU), Renault 1:31.220
8 10 Pierre Gasly (FRA), Scuderia Toro Rosso-Honda 1:31.232
9 14 Fernando Alonso (ESP), McLaren-Renault 1:31.282
10 2 Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL), McLaren-Renault 1:31.422
11 8 Romain Grosjean (FRA), Haas-Ferrari 1:31.591
12 55 Carlos Sainz Jr. (ESP), Renault 1:31.601
13 31 Esteban Ocon (FRA), Force India-Mercedes 1:31.809
14 11 Sergio Perez (MEX), Force India-Mercedes 1:31.868
15 20 Kevin Magnussen (DEN), Haas-Ferrari 1:31.969
16 16 Charles Leclerc (MON), Alfa Romeo Sauber-Ferrari 1:32.372
17 18 Lance Stroll (CDN), Williams-Mercedes 1:32.382
18 35 Sergey Sirotkin (RUS), Williams-Mercedes 1:32.474
19 9 Marcus Ericsson (SWE), Alfa Romeo Sauber-Ferrari 1:32.733
20 28 Brendon Hartley (NZL), Scuderia Toro Rosso-Honda 1:32.908