F1: Bottas back on form in Mexico FP1

via @SkySportsF1

Valtteri Bottas topped the timesheets for free practice one for the first time since the British Grand Prix, with Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton in second.

Bottas set a time of 1:17.824 on the ultra-soft tyre, with the championship leader almost half a second slower.

The session saw the virtual safety car briefly deployed after Toro Rosso’s Brendon Hartley slowed on track before development driver Alfonso Celis (Force India) brought out the red flag following a crash on the exit of the final corner.

Max Verstappen (Red Bull) ended the session in third on the super soft tyre, despite experiencing an engine issue, ahead of team-mate Daniel Ricciardo in fourth on the same compound.

Ferrari drivers Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Rӓikkӧnen were fifth and sixth, both of whom also opting for the super soft tyre.

The home favourite Sergio Perez (Force India) was seventh, ahead of McLaren’s Fernando Alonso, with Felipe Massa (Williams) and Nico Hulkenberg (Renault) in the top ten.

Kevin Magnussen (Haas) had his session disrupted due to a water leak whilst Stoffel Vandoorne failed to set a time with an engine problem.    

2017 Mexican Grand Prix Free Practice One Official Classification:

Pos. Driver (Nationality), Team Time
1 Valtteri Bottas (FIN), Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:17.824
2 Lewis Hamilton (GBR), Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:18.290
3 Max Verstappen (NLD), Red Bull Racing TAG-Heuer 1:18.395
4 Daniel Ricciardo (AUS), Red Bull Racing TAG-Heuer 1:18.421
5 Sebastian Vettel (DEU), Scuderia Ferrari 1:18.586
6 Kimi Rӓikkӧnen (FIN), Scuderia Ferrari 1:19.008
7 Sergio Perez (MEX), Force India-Mercedes 1:19.240
8 Fernando Alonso (ESP), McLaren-Honda 1:19.346
9 Felipe Massa (BRA), Williams-Mercedes 1:19.443
10 Nico Hulkenberg (DEU), Renault 1:19.552
11 Carlos Sainz Jr. (ESP), Renault 1:19.554
12 Lance Stroll (CAN), Williams-Mercedes 1:19.772
13 Kevin Magnussen (DEN), Haas-Ferrari 1:20.644
14 Pascal Wehrlein (DEU), Sauber-Ferrari 1:20.971
15 Antonio Giovinazzi (ITA), Haas-Ferrari 1:21.269
16 Charles Leclerc (MON), Sauber-Ferrari 1:21.446
17 Sean Gelael (IDN), Scuderia Toro Rosso-Renault 1:21.639
18 Brendon Hartley (NZL), Scuderia Toro Rosso-Renault 1:21.747
19 Alfonso Celis (MEX), Force India-Mercedes 1:22.342
20 Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL), McLaren-Honda No Time Set