F1: Hamilton Continues to Dominate Stateside

via @C4F1

After going fastest in free practice one, Lewis Hamilton sat atop of the timesheets again following the second practice session for the USGP, setting a new track record for The Circuit of the Americas in the process.

Although it was Red Bull setting the benchmark in the early stages, as Daniel Ricciardo initially went fastest with a 1:36.116 on the super soft tyre and team-mate Max Verstappen two tenths behind on the soft compound tyre.

It wasn’t until Mercedes used the ultras that Hamilton took command of the session, posting a 1:34.668 to move into first place, with Valtteri Bottas sixth tenths behind.

Verstappen and Hamilton’s title rival Sebastian Vettel (Scuderia Ferrari) managed to better the Finn’s time to end the second practice in second and third respectively, with the former World Champion only completing nine laps due to a spin early on which subsequently limited his first run.   

The last third of the session saw little change in the order as the teams focused on their long runs in preparation for Sunday’s race.

As a result, Ricciardo and Kimi Rӓikkӧnen (Scuderia Ferrari) weren’t far behind in fifth and sixth, whilst Fernando Alonso (McLaren) impressed to finish seventh despite not posting a lap in the first free practice session.

Felipe Massa (Williams) and the Force India’s of Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon rounded up the top ten, whereas Romain Grosjean (Haas) was the only driver unable to set a representative time.

2017 United States Grand Prix, Free Practice 2 Classification:

Pos. Name (Nationality), Team Time/Tyre Compound
1 Lewis Hamilton (GBR), Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:34.668/Ultra Soft
2 Max Verstappen (NLD), Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 1:35.065/Ultra Soft
3 Sebastian Vettel (DEU), Scuderia Ferrari 1:35.192/Ultra Soft
4 Valtteri Bottas (FIN), Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:35.279/Ultra Soft
5 Daniel Ricciardo (AUS), Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 1:35.463/Ultra Soft
6 Kimi Rӓikkӧnen (FIN), Scuderia Ferrari 1:35.514/Ultra Soft
7 Fernando Alonso (ESP), McLaren-Honda 1:36.304/Ultra Soft
8 Felipe Massa (BRA), Williams-Mercedes 1:36.460/Ultra Soft
9 Sergio Perez (MEX), Force India-Mercedes 1:36.481/Ultra Soft
10 Esteban Ocon (FRA), Force India-Mercedes 1:36.490/Ultra Soft
11 Carlos Sainz Jr. (ESP), Renault 1:36.529/Ultra Soft
12 Nico Hulkenberg (DEU), Renault 1:36.534/Ultra Soft
13 Daniil Kvyat (RUS), Scuderia Toro Rosso-Renault 1:36.761/Ultra Soft
14 Kevin Magnussen (DEN), Haas-Ferrari 1:37.285/Ultra Soft
15 Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL), McLaren-Honda 1:37.463/Ultra Soft
16 Lance Stroll (CAN), Williams-Mercedes 1:37.788/Ultra Soft
17 Brendon Hartley (NZL), Scuderia Toro Rosso-Renault 1:37.987/Ultra Soft
18 Pascal Wehrlein (DEU), Sauber-Ferrari 1:38.165/Ultra Soft
19 Marcus Ericsson (SWE), Sauber-Ferrari 1:38.262/Ultra Soft
20 Romain Grosjean (FRA), Haas-Ferrari 1:38.387/Super Soft