F1: Ricciardo tops competitive Mexico FP2 session

via @RedBullRacing

Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) topped the timesheets after the second practice session for the Mexican Grand Prix, in which the top nine drivers were within a second of each other.

The early stages saw a red flag stoppage occur after Romain Grosjean’s Haas went wide on the exit of the final corner and kicked up debris whilst re-joining the tarmac, finishing last because of the mechanics repairing his stricken car.

In the sister car, Kevin Magnussen struggled with illness and has left the paddock early to try and recover, with Ferrari academy driver and Haas’ development driver Antonio Giovinazzi taking over the Dane’s driver briefing and media responsibilities.

Later in the session, Ricciardo set the time of 1:17.801 on the soft compound tyre as the team look to close the gap to Mercedes and Ferrari.

Red Bull team-mate Max Verstappen experienced engine issue en route to third, with the pair sandwiched by championship leader Lewis Hamilton in the Mercedes.

Hamilton’s session wasn’t without bother though, after he and numerous other driver spun off the track as they were trying to rubber in the tyres on the dusty surface.

In fourth place was Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel, who had his session disrupted due to burns to on his buttocks caused by a fire extinguisher leaking in his cockpit.

Kimi Rӓikkӧnen (Ferrari) was fifth ahead of fellow Finn Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) with Fernando Alonso putting his McLaren in a promising seventh.

Mexico’s Sergio Perez (Force India) ended up in eighth, with Nico Hulkenberg (Renault) in ninth and Esteban Ocon (Force India) in tenth.  

Pos. Driver (Nationality), Team Time
1 Daniel Ricciardo (AUS), Red Bull Racing TAG-Heuer 1:17.801
2 Lewis Hamilton (GBR), Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:17.932
3 Max Verstappen (NLD), Red Bull Racing TAG-Heuer 1:17.964
4 Sebastian Vettel (DEU), Scuderia Ferrari 1:18.051
5 Kimi Rӓikkӧnen (FIN), Scuderia Ferrari 1:18.142
6 Valtteri Bottas (FIN), Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:18.299
7 Fernando Alonso (ESP), McLaren-Honda 1:18.508
8 Sergio Perez (MEX), Force India-Mercedes 1:18.728
9 Nico Hulkenberg (DEU), Renault 1:18.775
10 Esteban Ocon (FRA), Force India-Mercedes 1:18.822
11 Carlos Sainz Jr. (ESP), Renault 1:19.060
12 Felipe Massa (BRA), Williams-Mercedes 1:19.206
13 Brendon Hartley (NZL), Scuderia Toro Rosso-Renault 1:19.423
14 Lance Stroll (CAN), Williams-Mercedes 1:19.524
15 Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL), McLaren-Honda 1:19.844
16 Pascal Wehrlein (DEU), Sauber-Ferrari 1:20.306
17 Kevin Magnussen (DEN), Haas-Ferrari 1:20.318
18 Marcus Ericsson (SWE), Sauber-Ferrari 1:20.362
19 Pierre Gasly (FRA), Scuderia Toro Rosso-Renault 1:21.745
20 Romain Grosjean (FRA), Haas-Ferrari 1:25.526