Formula 3: Ilott claims victory in Macau qualifying race

via @callum_ilott

Callum Ilott (Prema) won the qualification race for tomorrow’s Macau Grand Prix ahead of Motopark’s Joel Eriksson and Sérgio Sette Câmara.

At the start of the race, Eriksson lead from pole ahead of Ilott and Maximilian Günther (Prema). Lando Norris (Carlin) had started alongside Eriksson on the front row but got bogged down off the line and dropped to ninth.

On the second lap, Mick Schumacher (Prema) was challenging Ferdinand Habsburg (Carlin) for sixth position on the approach to the Lisboa corner.

However, Schumacher was on the outside of the corner and subsequently locked up under braking, resulting in the German to go down the escape road.

Back at the front, Ilott had got the better exit off the final corner as he and race leader Eriksson started lap six. The Ferrari academy driver tried to use the advantage of slipstreaming to pass into Lisboa but was forced to go onto the outside and yielded.

Behind them, Câmara attempted a similar manoeuvre on Günther and was successful, and moved up to third.

On the following lap, Ilott got into the slipstream once more, but this time made his move at the preceding Mandarin corner. The British driver then held his position at Lisboa to take the race lead away and pulled away from Eriksson.

From there on, Ilott pulled a convincing gap to win the qualifying race, with Eriksson holding off Câmara for second place, with Günther in fourth.

After a disappointing start, Norris managed to make his way up the field and began the final lap in fifth place, which would make for a good recovery from running as far down as 11th earlier in the race.

Unfortunately for him, Pedro Piquet (Van Amersfoort Racing) went around the outside of the Formula Three champion at Lisboa, before the pair of them were beaten to the line by Habsburg.   

Daniel Ticktum finished in a respectable eighth for Motopark, whilst B-Max Racing’s Yuhi Sekiguchi and Prema’s Guanyu Zhou completed the top ten.   

Sunday’s main event, the FIA Formula 3 World Cup Macau Grand Prix, will take place at 15:30 local time (05:30 GMT).

All of us at Essaar would also like to extend our deepest sympathies and condolences to friends and family of Daniel Hegarty, the British motorcycle rider who tragically succumbed to his injuries sustained after crashing against the barriers at the Macau Grand Prix earlier today.

Daniel Hegarty riding in the Macau Grand Prix earlier today, before his tragic accident | via EPA

2017 Macau Grand Prix (Qualification Race) Official Classification:

Pos. Car No. Driver (Nationality), Team (Engine) Time
1 7 Callum Ilott (GBR), Prema Powerteam (Mercedes) 10 Laps
2 15 Joel Eriksson (SWE), Motopark (Volkswagen) +7.957
3 19 Sérgio Sette Câmara (BRA), Motopark (Volkswagen) +8.643
4 9 Maximilian Günther (DEU), Prema Powerteam (Mercedes) +9.798
5 3 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), Carlin (Volkswagen) +10.391
6 26 Pedro Piquet (BRA), Van Amersfoort Racing (Mercedes) +10.821
7 1 Lando Norris (GBR), Carlin (Volkswagen) +11.966
8 18 Daniel Ticktum (GBR), Motopark (Volkswagen) +12.657
9 22 Yuhi Sekiguchi (JPN), B-Max Racing Team (Volkswagen) +13.418
10 8 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), Prema Powerteam (Mercedes) +14.715
11 21 Kenta Yamashita (JPN), B-Max Racing Team (Volkswagen) +15.505
12 5 Sacha Fenestraz (FRA), Carlin (Volkswagen) +17.608
13 25 Ralf Aron (EST), Van Amersfoort Racing (Mercedes) +19.371
14 17 Marino Sato (JPN), Motopark (Volkswagen) +25.456
15 11 Sho Tsuboi (JPN), Team TOM’S (Toyota) +26.614
16 2 Jehan Daruvala (IND), Carlin (Volkswagen) +30.412
17 16 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), Motopark (Volkswagen) +32.173
18 20 Álex Palou (JPN), ThreeBond Racing (Tomei) +32.606
19 12 Ritomo Miyata (JPN), Team TOM’S (Toyota) +37.061
20 10 Mick Schumacher (DEU), Prema Powerteam (Mercedes) +37.634
21 6 Devlin DeFrancesco (CDN), Carlin (Volkswagen) +51.177