Formula 3: Macau Grand Prix Preview

Drivers going around the infamous Melco Hairpin of the Macau Grand Prix Circuit in 2012 | via Flickr

McLaren’s junior driver Lando Norris (Carlin) will be the headline attraction for Sunday’s Formula Three Macau Grand Prix.

Fourteen drivers from this year FIA Formula Three European Championship will be participating, including Norris’ title rivals Maximilian Günther (Prema) and Joel Eriksson (Motopark).

Van Amersfoort Racing will also be competing in Macau, with Ralf Aron and Pedro Piquet hoping to make a strong impression on the field.

Super Formula’s Yuhi Sekiguchi and Kenta Yamashita will be contesting the race for the B-Max Racing Team, in addition to the Toyota-backed Team TOM’S.

Sérgio Sette Câmara, who currently holds the lap record from the 2015 race, will also be taking part following a decent showing in his maiden FIA Formula Two campaign.

The race will be held at the Guia Circuit for the 64th time and has a contrasting mix between wide, lengthy straights and narrow corners which are designed to punish human error.

On numerous occasions first lap pile ups have occurred, including the 1995 race which saw a crash at Turn 4 by Norberto Fortana resulting in all but three of the thirty cars to disintegrate without warning.

Winners of the famous race have gone on to race in a range of different racing categories outside of Formula One, such as the BTCC (Rickard Rydell), WEC (David Brabham), Formula E (Lucas Di Grassi) and IndyCar (Mike Conway).

Official 2017 Macau Grand Prix Entry List:

Team Driver Line-Up
Carlin No.1 Lando Norris (GBR), No.2 Jehan Daruvala (IND), No.3 Ferdinand Habsburg (AUT), No.4 Sacha Fenestraz (FRA), No.5 Delvin DeFrancesco (CDN)
Prema Powerteam No.7 Callum Ilott (GBR), No.8 Guanyu Zhou (CHN), No.9 Maximilian Günther (DEU), No. 10 Mick Schumacher (DEU)
Team TOM’S No.11 Sho Tsuboi (JPN), No.12 Ritomo Miyata (JPN)
Motopark No.15 Joel Eriksson (SWE), No.16 Tadasuke Makino (JPN), No.17 Marino Sato (JPN), No.18 Daniel Ticktum (GBR), No.19 Sérgio Sette Câmara (BRA)
ThreeBond Racing No.20 Álex Palou (JPN)
B-Max Racing Team No.21 Kenta Yamashita (JPN), No.22 Yuhi Sekiguchi (JPN), No.23 Ryuji Kumita (JPN)
Van Amersfoort Racing No.25 Ralf Aron (EST), No.26 Pedro Piquet (BRA)