Formula E – Buemi Takes Pole in Marrakesh


Sébastien Buemi (Renault e.Dams) will be on pole position for this afternoon’s Marrakesh ePrix, with championship leader Sam Bird (DS Virgin) joining him on the front row.

In the first qualifying group, it was the season three champion Lucas Di Grassi (Audi) who set the benchmark time of 1:20.314.

To the surprise of many, it took a while to knock Di Grassi off provisional pole, as the drivers found it to find the grip on track.

It wasn’t until the third qualifying group went out, and saw Felix Rosenqvist (Mahindra) go fastest with a 1:20.115.

However, his team-mate Nick Heidfeld experienced contrasting fortunes, smashing into the barrier at Turn 11 after braking too late into the corner; something the German admitted to once he’d climbed out of the car.

A patch of water was left on the entry to Turn 11 from the resulting incident and compromised the efforts of those in the final qualifying group, allowing Buemi, Bird and José María Lopez (Dragon) into the Super Pole shootout alongside Di Grassi and Rosenqvist.

Bird was the first driver to set a time, and after setting a respectable 1:20.615, Buemi comfortably better this with a 1:20.355 which proved to be more than enough to claim pole position.

Lopez struggled to control his car through the corners during his attempt, and was well off the pace as a consequence, finishing fourth.

Di Grassi was marginally faster in the first sector, but an MGU error slow him down and put the Brazilian in fifth for the race.

The outlook was similar for Rosenqvist, who went wide at the exit of the chicane and rode the kerb, losing valuable time but was able to claim third.

Coverage of the Marrakesh ePrix on Channel 5 starts at 3:30pm, with the race scheduled to start at 4pm.

Qualifying Results for the FIA Formula E Marrakesh ePrix:

1 Sébastien Buemi, Renault e.Dams (Super Pole) 1:20.355

2 Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing 1:20.615

3 Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing 1:21.196

4 José María Lopez, Dragon Racing 1:21.369

5 Lucas Di Grassi, Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 1:21.444

6 Alex Lynn, DS Virgin Racing (Q1) 1:20.567

7 Nelson Piquet Jr., Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1:20.585

8 Daniel Abt, Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 1:20.605

9 Mitch Evans, Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1:20.690

10 Oliver Turvey, NIO Formula E Team 1:20.748

11 Luca Filippi, NIO Formula E Team 1:20.804

12 Tom Blomqvist, Andretti Formula E 1:20.870

13 Jean-Eric Vergne, Techeetah 1:20.906

14 Maro Engel, Venturi Formula E Team 1:20.920

15 Nico Prost, Renault e.Dams 1:20.937

16 Jerome D’Ambrosio, Dragon Racing 1:21.176

17 André Lotterer, Techeetah 1:21.222

18 Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing 1:28.671

19 Antonio Felix Da Costa, Andretti Formula E 1:36.167

20 Edoardo Mortara, Venturi Formula E Team 1:36.733