Formula E: The Facts So Far

Source: Autoweek

Since it first hit track in 2014, Formula E has become one of the fastest growing motorsport series in the world, often surpassing half a million viewers at each race.

At the time of writing, Formula E has been through 24 races over 22 weekends and some of the statistics you are about to read may surprise you.

When it comes to wins, e.Dams Renault are the team to beat as they have won an incredible 12 races. Possibly even more amazing is that 9 of their 12 wins are courtesy of Sebastian Buemi and only 3 from Nicolas Prost who, we must remember, is the son of partial team owner, Alain Prost.

Next in line is Lucas di Grassi who has claimed 4 wins so far, despite being in the hunt for the championship in season 1 and 2. Thus far he has been the only winner for Abt, with Daniel Abt often failing to find the pace when it really matters.

Sam Bird is tied with Prost on 3 wins, closely followed by Nelson Piquet Jr (season 1 champion) and Jerome D’Ambrosio on 2 wins. Both wins for D’Ambrosio have come courtesy of a disqualification from di Grassi!

The last of our 7 winners is Antonio Felix da Costa. The Portuguese driver claimed his only win during the hectic Buenos Aires ePrix of season 1, although he has come close on numerous occasions.

In terms of podiums, Lucas di Grassi leads the way with 15, closely followed by Buemi on 14. Other notable former podium sitters include Jean-Eric Vergne, who has claimed podiums for every team he has driven for, and Franck Montagny, who came 2nd in the first ever race only to be disqualified in Round 2 for failing a drug test.

Scott Speed soon became known as Speedy Scott when he claimed a memorable 2nd place at his home event on his FE debut and Robin Frijns quickly became a fan favourite, scoring a podium on just his 2nd outing for the Andretti team.

Most recently we have seen rookie sensation Felix Rosenqvist claim his first podium in just his 2nd event. So far we have seen 17 drivers climb on to the podium and considering there have been just 24 events that really is an incredible statistic.

The pole position chart is interesting, with many unexpected names making an appearance, although it is led by the man who leads just about everything else in Formula E, Sebastien Buemi. He has 6 pole positions meaning he has had a clean run to the first corner in 25% of all races!

2nd on the list is Jean-Eric Vergne who claimed his first pole on his very first outing in the series with the Andretti team. Some of the unexpected names appear with just a single pole, one being Daniel Abt, who has constantly under-performed compared to his teammate, Jarno Trulli, who claimed a pole position at the Berlin ePrix of season 1 only to finish 19th and last on the road!

Stephane Sarrazin put his experience to good use in wet conditions to claim his only pole so far and probably the most incredible statistic in this section is that Lucas di Grassi has only just claimed his first pole, as after 23 races he finally managed to get his car at the head of the grid.

The fastest lap chart is a lot more closely contested than people may be led to believe, although it is once again headed by the almost unstoppable force of Buemi on 6 fastest laps, meaning he has set it in 25% of all Formula E races!

Sitting 2nd in the standings is Nelson Piquet Jr who has claimed half of the amount of Buemi. Sam Bird, Nicolas Prost and new-comer Rosenqvist are bunched together on 2 each with Rosenqvist having set it in 66% of all races he has entered.

Out of the 14 total drivers who have claimed the fastest lap, the best record goes to Takuma Sato who is thus far the only driver to so it in his only appearance, as well as being the first ever holder of the record having set it in the very first race. Almost unbelievably though, Lucas di Grassi has also only set a single fastest lap coming at round 10 of season 1 in London.

When it comes to Fanboost, yet again the 2 men to beat are Sebastien Buemi and Lucas di Grassi who have accumulated 10 votes each since the start of the series. As ever, Jean-Eric Vergne is a popular driver and comes in with 9 votes, despite contesting 2 races less than the previously mentioned di Grassi and Buemi.

Nelson Piquet and Nick Heidfeld have also proven to be very popular drivers having collected 8 and 7 votes respectively. The best vote to race ratio goes to Katherine Legge, having been given the boost in both races she entered, giving her a 100% fanboost record!

Despite being immensely popular through the paddock, the two Dragon drivers of Jerome D’Ambrosio and Loic Duval have only collected a single vote each. Since the first race of the series there have been 17 different drivers allocated the fanboost and the latest driver to get the vote is Jose Maria Lopez who joined the series just 3 races ago and got it on his very first competitive outing in the car.