IndyCar: Mid-Ohio Qualifying Report


It was an action packed qualifying session yesterday at Mid-Ohio, as Team Penske’s Will Power put his #12 Verizon Chevrolet on pole with a time of 1:04.172.

This is Power’s fifth pole of the season, and 49th of his career, which puts him fourth on the all-time list.

“I’m really excited for this pole,” said Power following the Verizon Fast Six. “The crew has really been on it all weekend here at Mid-Ohio. I’m ready for tomorrow’s race with what we feel is a really strong car.”

Power’s Penske teammate Josef Newgarden starts alongside him in second place, his best start of the season.

“I think we did a good job today,” said Newgarden. “It’s always tough to get pipped by your teammate by just a little bit, but ultimately it’s a good day for us on Team Penske. We have two cars up there on the front.”

As the time ran out in all three sessions, several drivers were less than pleased with the lack of room being given on track.

James Hinchcliffe, driver of the #5 Arrow Honda felt a lack of respect from some drivers, “Unfortunately we ran into some guys that were gapping pretty disrespectfully and not giving everybody the room that was needed; when there are only 12 cars on track, it’s pretty crazy that we can’t all find a gap.” Hinchcliffe starts the race in eighth position.

Championship leader Scott Dixon, who has dominated Mid-Ohio in years past, lines up in sixth.

Qualifying Results:

1.  W. Power Penske 01:04.172
2.  J. Newgarden Penske 01:04.306
3.  T. Sato Andretti 01:04.679
4.  G. Rahal Rahal 01:04.795
5.  H. Castroneves Penske 01:04.848
6.  S. Dixon Ganassi 01:05.192
7.  S. Pagenaud Penske 01:04.300
8.  J. Hinchcliffe SPM 01:04.378
9.  A. Rossi Andretti Herta 01:04.490
10.  R. Hunter-Reay Andretti 01:04.492
11.  C. Daly Foyt 01:04.874
12.  E. Gutiérrez Dale Coyne 01:05.036
13.  C. Kimball Ganassi 01:04.993
14.  Marco Andretti Andretti 01:04.592
15.  E. Jones Dale Coyne 01:05.033
16.  S. Pigot Carpenter 01:04.618
17.  T. Kanaan Ganassi 01:05.320
18.  M. Chilton Ganassi 01:04.860
19.  J.R. Hildebrand Carpenter 01:05.338
20.  C. Muñoz Foyt 01:04.944
21.  M. Aleshin SPM 01:05.244