Japanese F3: Miyata Dominates Race Two at Suzuka


Ritomo Miyata claimed a dominant win at Suzuka, to take the lead of the Japanese Formula Three Championship.

At the start, Miyata got away well from Pole Position and defended his lead from Race 1 winner Sacha Fenestraz.

Behind them, Enaam Ahmed also started well and moved up from fifth to third place.

In bizarre circumstances, the medical car broke down and spilled oil onto the track.

Because of this, the Safety Car was deployed.

When the race restarted, Fenestraz tried to brake late into the Casio chicane to get a run on Miyata into Turn 1.

However, the Frenchman locked up under braking, broke his front wing and forced himself into an unscheduled pit stop.

This allowed Miyata to retain the lead, with Ahmed in second ahead of Kazuko Kotaka, Toshiki Oyu and Shunsuke Kohno.

Having started 13th, Ameya Viadyanathan was having a great race and challenged Ai Miura for sixth place.

However, the Indian driver ran wide at Turn 1 and dropped to 11th, undoing all of his hard work.

At the end of the same lap, Miura locked up under braking at the chicane and went off the track.

As a result, he dropped to ninth behind team-mate Hiroki Otsu and YTB team-mates of Charles Milesi and Yoshiaki Katayama.

Back at the front, Miyata remained unchallenged and claimed a comfortable win to lead the Drivers’ Championship.

Ahmed held off Kotaka to finish second, with Oyu close behind in fourth.

Kohno was a distant fifth and Milesi claimed the last championship point in sixth place.

2019 Japanese Formula Three – Round Two Results, Suzuka Circuit

Pos. Driver (Nationality), Team Time
1 Ritomo Miyata (JPN), Team TOM’s  17 Laps
2 Enaam Ahmed (GBR), B-Max Racing with Motopark  +12.913
3 Kazuko Kotaka (JPN), Team TOM’s  +13.667
4 Toshiki Oyu (JPN), Toda Racing  +15.002
5 Shunsuke Kohno (JPN), RS Fine  +21.573
6 Charles Milesi (FRA), YTB by Carlin  +28.507
7 Hiroki Otsu (JPN), ThreeBond Racing  +29.488
8 Yoshiaki Katayama (JPN), YTB by Carlin  +30.462
9 Ai Miura (JPN), ThreeBond Racing  +41.789
10 Tairoku Yamaguchi (JPN), Tairoku Racing  +44.285
11 Ameya Viadyanathan (IND), B-Max Racing with Motopark  +45.286
12 Ryuji ‘Dragon’ Kumita (JPN), B-Max Racing with Motopark  +1:07.900
13 Katsuaki Kubota (JPN), Hanashima Racing  +1:15.875
14 Sacha Fenestraz (FRA), B-Max Racing with Motopark  +1 Lap